03 December, 2010

New Durzo novella and Two New Novels from Brandon Sanderson

These bits of news were way too big to contain to the weekly It's News To Me and thus they're coming to you today.

Brent Weeks has announced on Twitter that there's a new novella involving Durzo Blint. I loved the Night Angel Trilogy so this is wonderful news (thanks Mad Hatter):
You ever wonder how Durzo became Durzo? Well, I just turned in a Durzo Blint novella that tells.
And in Sanderson news:

Tor announces acquisitions of two new novels by #1 New York Times bestselling fantasy author Brandon Sanderson

Sanderson to publish new Mistborn novel in late 2011
followed by The Rithmatist in 2012

New York, NY: Wednesday, December 1 2010

Tor Books is proud to announce the acquisition of two new novels by acclaimed fantasy author Brandon Sanderson, whose recent book Towers of Midnight, Book Thirteen in Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time®, recently debuted at #1 on the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Publishers Weekly, and ABA National Indiebound bestseller lists. Sanderson is also the author of New York Times bestselling novels The Way of Kings, The Gathering Storm, The Mistborn Trilogy, Warbreaker, Elantris, and the middle grade “Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians” series. He is currently working on A Memory of Light, the 14th and final volume in The Wheel of Time, and planning a sequel to The Way of Kings.

Sanderson’s first new project will be an original, standalone short novel set in the universe of his Mistborn trilogy (Mistborn, The Well of Ascension, and The Hero of Ages). Sanderson previously announced plans for a sequel trilogy set in the far future of that world, and the new novel, entitled Mistborn: The Alloy of Law, is set during a frontier era where “allomancy” meets gunplay. The Alloy of Law will be published in late 2011.

Sanderson’s second project, titled The Rithmatist, was first drafted in 2007 and perfected this year. Set in an alternate-history America where magic users (called “Rithmatists”) battle wild chalk creatures, The Rithmatist introduces Joel, a student at the Rithmatist academy with great interest in but no ability to use the magic. But when students start vanishing, it’s up to him to expose the sinister figure behind the disappearances. The Rithmatist will be published in 2012 after the publication of A Memory of Light.

This year and next will also see major publications in the Wheel of Time franchise, including the graphic novel adaptations of New Spring (January 2011) and The Eye of the World: Volume 1 (September 2011) before the landmark publication of A Memory of Light, the final volume in the series. The third annual JordanCon will take place April 15–17 2011 in Atlanta, GA. Pre-registration is currently ongoing at www.ageoflegends.net.

Fore more information visit www.brandonsanderson.com.


Jamie Gibbs said...

Does Sanderson not sleep? The man's a writing machine! I'm hoping I get The Way of Kings soon, I want that epic to be my first Sanderson novel.

I've got the first Night Angel book (still unread) but I've heard good things, so more Brent Weeks stuff is good news to me :)

Bryce L. said...

I loved WoK, I don't think it'll let you down. Yeah, he's amazing and I've heartily enjoyed everything he's done too.

Brent Weeks is also recommended. Night Angel is action-packed, fast-paced, and about assassins what could be better? :)